Connect with us

United States

DHS Extends TPS Re-registration Periods for El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan to 18 Months

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending from 60 days to 18 months the periods to re-register for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) under the designations of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan. 

The 18-month re-registration period under the designation of: 

  • El Salvador now runs through March 9, 2025; 

  • Haiti now runs through Aug. 3, 2024; 

  • Honduras now runs through July 5, 2025; 

  • Nepal now runs through June 24, 2025;  

  • Nicaragua now runs through July 5, 2025; and 

  • Sudan now runs through April 19, 2025. 

This re-registration extension will allow TPS beneficiaries to submit Form I-821, Application for Temporary Protected Status, and Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization, at any time during the 18-month extensions of the TPS designations of these six countries. 

We will publish a Federal Register notice for this re-registration extension soon. 

Note that this announcement does not change the previously announced extensions of the TPS designations for these six countries, and it does not change the eligibility requirements. It extends the period when existing beneficiaries may re-register for their benefits. 


Link:, dated September 8, 2023 6:39 pm

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar